Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) - About

The National University of Malaysia is a public university located in Bangi, Selangor which is about 35 km south of Kuala Lumpur. Its teaching hospital, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre (UKMMC)  is located in Cheras and also has a branch campus in Kuala Lumpur. There are 17,500 undergraduate students enrolled, and 5,105 postgraduate students of which 1368 are foreign students from 35 countries.

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia is one of five research universities in the country. It was ranked by The Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) at number 185 in its annual ranking of the world's top 200 universities for 2006. In the Times Inaugural University ranking top 100, it was number 50 in 2012. It is ranked 98th place in the 100 best universities in the world established within the last 50 years. 



  • Social Science and Humanities (established in 1970 as Faculty of Arts)
  • Science and Technology (established in 1970 as Faculty of Sciences)
  • Islamic Studies (established in 1970)
  • The three above make up the founding faculties.
  • Medicine
  • Health Sciences
  • Dentistry
  • Economics and Business
  • Education
  • Engineering and Built Environment
  • Graduate School of Business
  • Information Science and Technology
  • Law
  • Pharmacy


  • Centre for Academic Advancement
  • Centre for Corporate Communications
  • Centre for Corporate Planning & Communications
  • Centre for General Studies
  • Centre for Graduate Management
  • Centre for Information Technology
  • Centre for Publication and Printing
  • Centre for Research and Innovation Management
  • Centre for Students Advancement
  • PERMATApintar National Gifted Centre
  • UKM Islamic Centre
  • UKM Medical Centre


  • Fuel Cell Institute
  • Inst. for Environment & Development (LESTARI)
  • Inst. for Malaysian & International Studies (IKMAS)
  • Institute of Ethnic Studies (KITA)
  • Inst. of Microengineering & Nanoelectronics (IMEN)
  • Inst. of Occidental Studies (IKON)
  • Inst. of Space Science (ANGKASA)
  • Inst. of Systems Biology (INBIOSIS)
  • Inst. of the Malay World & Civilization (ATMA)
  • Inst. of West Asian Studies (IKRAB)
  • Inst. of Islam Hadhari (HADHARI)
  • Medical Molecular Biology Institute (UMBI)
  • Solar Energy Research Institute (SERI)
  • Southeast Asia Disaster Prevention Research Institute (SEADPRI-UKM)
1000 characters left